About the Royal Commission for Riyadh City

The Royal Commission for Riyadh City (RCRC) was established by the cabinet’s decree No. 717, dated 20 June, 1974 (29/05/1394H) to realize the will of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques to establish a joint authority that leads, supervises and orchestrates the comprehensive development of the city of Riyadh. Therefore, RCRC serves as a unified command for all metropolitan development efforts.

The “Development of Provinces and Cities Law” was issued by the Council of Ministers’ decree No. (475) dated May 05, 2018 (Ramadan 07, 1439H). It stipulates that “Riyadh Development Authority” is an interagency body, with a legal personality and financial and administrative independence, and that it reports directly to the Prime Minister.

Also, the Royal Decree No. (A/470), dated August 30, 2019 (29/12/1440H), was issued, transforming the “Riyadh Development Authority” into a royal commission under the name “Royal Commission for Riyadh City”. According to the Royal Decree, RCRC, shall have a Board of Directors chaired by the Deputy Prime Minister, and its members shall be appointed by order of the Prime Minister. Also, the responsibility for all tasks related to Riyadh’s National Megaprojects shall be transferred from the “Committee of National Megaprojects” to the “Royal Commission for Riyadh City”.

Later, the Royal Decree No. (A/312), dated December 26, 2019 (29/04/1441H), was issued approving RCRC’s organizational arrangements and structure.

RCRC Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors is chaired by HRH Prince Mohammed Bin Salman Bin Abdulaziz, the Crown Prince and Prime Minister, and its members are appointed by order of the Prime Minister. The members are as follows:

  • HRH Prince Faisal Bin Bandar Bin Abdulaziz, Governor of Riyadh Province
  • HRH Prince Abdulaziz Bin Saud Bin Nayef Bin Abdulaziz, Minister of Interior
  • HRH Prince Mohammed Bin Abdulrahman Bin Abdulaziz, Deputy Governor of Riyadh Province
  • HH Prince Badr Bin Abdullah Bin Mohammed Bin Farhan Al Saud, Minister of Culture
  • HH Prince Faisal Bin Abdulaziz Bin Ayyaf, Mayor of Riyadh Province
  • HE Dr. Majid Bin Abdullah Al Kassabi, Minister of Commerce
  • HE Mr. Majid Bin Abdullah Al-Hogail, Minister of Municipal Rural Affairs & Housing
  • HE Eng. Abdulrahman Bin Abdulmohsen Al-Fadli, Minister of Environment, Water and Agriculture​​ – Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Water Company
  • HE Mr. Mohammed Bin Abdullah Al-jadaan, Minister of Finance
  • HE Mr. Faisal bin Fadel Al-Ibrahim, Minister of Economy and Planning
  • HE Eng. Abdullah Bin Amer Al-Swaha, Minister of Communications and Information Technology
  • HE Eng. Saleh Bin Nasser Al-Jasser, Minister of Transport
  • HE Mr. Bandar Bin Ibrahim Al-Khorayef, Minister of Industry and Mineral Resources
  • HE Eng. Khalid Bin Abdulaziz Al-Falih, Minister of Investment
  • HE Eng. Ibrahim Bin Mohammed Al-Sultan, RCRC Board Member
  • HE Mr. Yasir Bin Othman Al-Rumayyan, RCRC Board Member
  • HE Dr. Khalid Bin Saleh Al-Sultan, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Saudi Electricity Company

The Board is the supreme authority over RCRC’s affairs and is entitled to determine and take whatever decisions and actions it deems appropriate to achieve its objectives.