Extension of Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq and Al-Orouba Roads

The metropolitan road plan included adding a 5-km extension to Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq Road southward until Salah Al-Din Al-Ayoubi Road, and a 6-km extension to Al-Orouba Road eastward until Abdulrahman Al-Ghafiqi Street, adjacent to the Eastern Ring Road, across the King Salman Airbase (formerly known as Riyadh Airbase).‎

Project Importance

The rapid growth of Riyadh has witnessed over the recent years overload in metropolitan traffic system and asserted the need for an integrated approach to handle this issue, especially that King Salman Airbase now falls in the heart of the city.

Serving 560,000 vehicles daily, the project is expected to reduce the kilometers driven in the city by 129,000 km per day and the hours spent on the roads by more than 58,000 hours per day.

Design and Safety

The two roads have underpasses beneath the King Salman Airbase, which hosts the Royal Hall and runways, in addition to the airbase’s infrastructure and facilities. Therefore, certain operational, security and safety requirements must be met, in addition to compliance with international aviation regulations and standards. The requirements include ensuring operational availability of the base, runways and aviation support services throughout the project.

These considerations were studied by specialized committees designated by Ministry of Defense and Aviation as well as Royal Commission for Riyadh City, which made the following recommendations:

  • The internationally recommended distances between roads and runways must be adopted.
  • All underpasses must be roofed.
  • Underpasses’ design must be strong enough to withstand bombings and landing of the giant and fully-loaded airplanes.
  • The necessity of improving fire endurance, and installation of the equipment necessary for security surveillance.
  • There must be dedicated control centers and tracks for the security patrols on the roads and inside the base.
  • Establishment of 3-meter high concrete walls on both sides along the road.
  • Installation of security cameras to detect whatever may impede movement of vehicles and/or pedestrians.

Reconstruction and relocation of all facilities, hangars, runways, communication systems and services that conflict with the course of the roads.

aspects were highlighted through the artistic graffiti drawings, the magnificent design of the square that hosts intersection of Abu Bakr Al Siddiq Road and Oruba Road, the elegant distribution of trees, and design of the lampposts that makes movement on both roads safer.

Environmental Aspects

Design of the two roads considered environment protection requirements. Accordingly, the green areas and esthetical structural elements formed as an important aspect of the design. Moreover, the rocky formationswere retained to add another esthetical dimension to the project.

Project Elements

The project elements were tailored to ensure the highest traffic capacity, create safe environment, and meet the requirements of traffic management, safety, operation, instructional services, and the esthetical and functional lighting.

The main road comprises three 3.6-meter wide tracks in addition to 2.8-meter wide emergency track in each direction, with the possibility of adding a two-track wide frontage road in case of developing the neighboring areas. There are also dedicated tracks for entrances and exits in addition to 3.5-meter central island. Furthermore, a tunnel extending for 955 meters at the intersection of King Abdulaziz Road and Oruba Road was built to allow northern and southern detours at King Abdulaziz Road.

Tunnels and Bridges

The project included implementation of three tunnels beneath the runways. Each tunnel is 35-meter wide with a total length of 2 km. Two tunnels are connected to the Oruba Road, and the third is connected to Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq Road. Moreover, a new internal underpass was built near the airbase.

A new 750-meter-long overpass with two lanes was also built at the intersection of Al-Orouba Road with the Eastern Ring Road (exit 11) to accommodate the south-west traffic.

Prince Sattam Square

The heart of the project hosted Prince Sattam Square, one of Riyadh largest squares with a total area of 330,000 m². The square provides a free intersection for U-turns to all directions and facilitates transition between Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq Road and Oruba Road.

The square has 1256 artistic aircraft patterns, 45 national flags, and 42 beautiful funnels to indicate air directionimparting an attractive visual dimension and modern spirit to the square which blends with its environs and the ambient aviation activities.

Safety Systems

The fully roofed tunnels that run beneath runways provide highly streamlined traffic on thecity two main axes. To ensure the tunnels’ efficient function, they were equipped with safety and security equipment including light intensity sensors, vehicle counters, variable-message signs, ventilation equipment, 58 emergency call centers, surveillance cameras, alarm bells, escape gates, and lights across the tunnel’s tracks.

Furthermore, the tunnels are equipped with 132 microphones and a set of instructional signs that indicate locations of passersby escape exits. The tunnels also have access gates for the emergency vehicles, and U-turns before and after each tunnel. Additionally, in case of an emergencyit is possible to communicate with the drivers via their vehicles’ radio sets using 98 and 100 FM frequencies (later all FM frequencies were used).

Ventilation Fittings

The tunnels are equipped with 113 ventilation fans that push the air forward along the movement’s direction in each side to accelerate the ventilation process. The airflow direction can be reversed in case of fire to improve efficiency of firefighting activities.

The ventilation fans operate automatically and their speed and direction are controlled via sensors for measuring carbon and nitrogen rates, in addition to heat sensors. All these systems and fittings are controlled and operated remotely from control centers.

Integrated Firefighting Systems

Generally, fires are among the main dangers that may occur in the tunnels due to the relatively speedy ignition due to dynamic influence of the flammable gases. Hence, special attention was paid to the firefighting system, which comprises four main components; early warning systems, firefighting fixed and mobile centers, fire extinguishers, and emergency exits.

Multiple Lighting Systems

Lighting the tunnels linking the two roads was implemented innovatively. The tunnels are equipped with about 7000 normal and emergency lighting units. The daily and nightly lighting modes ensure that light intensity is very high at the tunnel ends during the daytime to be consistent with the daylight outside the tunnels as determined by the light intensity sensors that control the light intensity to avoid dazzling the drivers, while at the same time meeting the tunnels’ safety requirements.

The tunnels were also equipped with red and white LED light indicators in two opposite directions to indicate the sides of the roads inside the tunnels, and the courses to be taken by the passersby in cases of emergency.

The tracks of both roads were lit using 330 16-meter high lampposts, while the square was lit using 122 12-meter high lampposts.

Esthetical Elements

The aesthetic aspects form integral part of the project’s design, which included structural elements that created a rich visual, natural and artistic environment without affecting the area’s natural rocky formations.

Functional and Aesthetical Walls

The project included building 11 km of 3-meter high walls on both sides of the roads. In some parts of the project, 8 km of 5-meter high walls were built around the extensions of the roads inside the airbase. The walls were decorated with paintings and functional signs to indicate directions.

Afforestation

About 1000 palm trees were planted adjacent to the roads and in-between the project’s different elements. About 3000 trees were planted throughout the project, in addition to covering about 45,000 m²with natural grass, and 200,000 m²with the synthetic grass to alleviate the environmental pollution resulting from the vehicles’ carbon monoxide emissions.

Irrigation and Rainwater Drainage Systems

The tunnels were equipped with 18 working pumps and 5 reserve ones for rainwater drainage, in addition to irrigation network inside water processing station, with seven giant wirelessly-controlled pumps to irrigate the project green areas. The daily capacity of these pumps amounts to 2800 m³, while the daily capacity of the reservoir is 6000 m³.

The project also has a 10.6-km canal for rainwater drainage starting from the northern diversion channel at the beginning of Prince Sultan Bin Abd El Aziz Street, then heading northward in parallel to Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq Road through King Salman Airbase, until reaching Imam Saud Bin Abd El Aziz Bin Muhammad Road. Furthermore, the project is equipped with networks to drain the underground water and water used in firefighting. Four deep wells were dug and two stations for environmental monitoring were established to provide indicators of rainwater, humidity, and wind speed at the project location.

Advanced Traffic Management Systems

The project relied on advanced traffic management systems that work harmoniously to achieve the maximum traffic capacity and safety. The main roads are equipped with 22 instructional variable-message signs, 161 functional variable-message signs, 120 signboards controlling the tracks inside the three tunnels, and automatic system for traffic monitoring and counting at the intersections and along the roads using 260 fixed cameras and about 34 axis cameras.

Central Control Room

The central control room operates the project’s traffic systems through specialists who instruct the drivers automatically in cases of traffic congestion or accidents, may Allah forbid. The main purpose of this central control room is to achieve the highest levels of traffic smoothness.

 

 

Inauguration

On Rabee II 28, 1434H (March 10 , 2013), His Royal Highness Prince Khalid bin Bandar bin Abdulaziz Al Saud opened the extension of Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq and Oruba Street across the King Salman Airbase project. His Highness also opened the tunnel of the intersection between King Abdulaziz Road with Oruba Road.

مشروع امتداد طريقي أبي بكر الصديق والعروبة عبر قاعدة الملك سلمان الجوية (قاعدة الرياض الجوية سابقاً)

تضمنت خطة الطرق المستقبلية لمدينة الرياض تنفيذ مشروع امتداد طريق أبي بكر الصديق جنوباً حتى طريق صلاح الدين الأيوبي بطول 5 كلم تقريباً وطريق العروبة شرقاً حتى التقائه مع شارع عبدالرحمن الغافقي عند الطريق الدائري الشرقي بطول 6 كلم عبر قاعدة الملك سلمان الجوية (قاعدة الرياض الجوية سابقاً).

أهمية المشروع

نظراً لامتداد العمران بمدينة الرياض في كافة الاتجاهات أصبحت قاعدة الملك سلمان الجوية في وسط المدينة، وكان تأثيرها علي الحركة المرورية عند توقف العديد من المحاور الرئيسية بوسط المدينة مما زاد من مسافات وزمن الرحلات المقطوعة على شبكة الطرق.

ويساهم هذا المشروع في خفض عدد الكيلومترات المقطوعة بالمدينة بمقدار 129.000 كيلو متر في اليوم، وخفض عدد الساعات المنقضية على الطرق بأكثر من 58.800 ساعة في اليوم وسيخدم 560 ألف سيارة يومياً.

اعتبارات تصميمية وأمنية

نظراً لعبور هذين الطريقين لقاعدة الملك سلمان الجوية ووجود الصالة الملكية ومدارج الطائرات، وكذلك البنية التحتية والمنشآت الخاصة في القاعدة استلزم تحقيق العديد من المتطلبات العملياتية والأمنية مع تضمين جميع الاعتبارات والمواصفات والمتطلبات الفنية والمعايير الخاصة بأنظمة الطيران الدولية، ومن ذلك جاهزية استخدام القاعدة والمدارج والمساعدات الملاحية أثناء التنفيذ.

وجرى بحث هذه المتطلبات من قبل اللجان المختصة من وزارة الدفاع والطيران والهيئة الملكية لمدينة الرياض، وتم التوصل إلى أهمية اعتبار المسافات المعتمدة في أنظمة الطيران العالمية لبُعد الطريق عن المدارج، وأن تكون الأنفاق مغلقة، مع التصميم الإنشائي للأنفاق لتحمل الانفجارات وتحمل هبوط الطائرات العملاقة الحديثة بكامل حمولتها فوق هذه الأنفاق، وكذلك رفع معامل تحمل الحرائق، ومتطلبات أنظمة المراقبة الأمنية وغرف التحكم والمسارات الخاصة بالدوريات الأمنية حول الطرق داخل القاعدة، و إنشاء حائط خرساني بارتفاع 3 أمتار من سطح الأرض على جانبي الطرق بالإضافة إلى الكاميرات الأمنية التي تستطيع اكتشاف توقف المركبات أو حركة المشاة، و إعادة إنشاء المنشآت وساحات وقوف الطائرات والمدارج ونظم الاتصالات والخدمات التي تعترض مسارات الطرق.

وعلى الرغم من كون الطريقين مرفقين مخصصين للنقل، فقد اعتمد في تصميمهما توفير النواحي الجمالية، وإضفاء تكوينات معمارية لا تتعارض مع متطلبات الحركة المرورية وتضفي على عناصر الطريقين بيئة بصرية تحفل بعناصر الجمال والتناسق، يظهر ذلك من خلال الرسومات الفنية المنفذة على الأسوار، إضافة إلى تصميم ميدان تقاطع طريق أبي بكر الصديق مع طريق العروبة، ونسق توزيع الأشجار، وتصميم أعمدة الإنارة التي تجعل من الحركة عبر الطريقين آمنة.

نواحي بيئية

روعي في تصميم الطريقين تطبيق متطلبات حماية البيئة وتوفير البيئة المتكاملة لخدمة الحركة المرورية؛ لذلك شكلت المسطحات الخضراء والتكوينات الجمالية جانباً مهماً من عناصر الطريقين، كما تم المحافظة على شكل التكوينات الصخرية للمنطقة لتعطي جانباً جمالياً آخر للطريق.

عناصر المشروع

تضمن مشروع الطريقين عدداً من العناصر التي تهدف في أدائها لتحقيق القدرات الاستيعابية العالية للحركة المرورية وتوفير البيئة الآمنة، ومتطلبات الإدارة المرورية والسلامة المرورية والتشغيل والصيانة، والعناصر الجمالية، والخدمات الإرشادية، والإضاءة الوظيفية والجمالية.

ويتكون الطريق الرئيسي من ثلاثة مسارات بعرض 3.6 م، ومسار للطوارئ بعرض 2.8 م في كل اتجاه مع إمكانية توفير طريق خدمة بعرض مسارين في حالة تطوير المناطق المجاورة للطريق، ومسارات خاصة للمداخل والمخارج وجزيرة وسطية عرضها 3,5 م. اضافة إلى ذلك تم تنفيذ نفق في طريق الملك عبدالعزيز عند تقاطعه مع طريق العروبة بطول 995م شاملاً حركات للالتفاف على طريق الملك عبدالعزيز شمالاً وجنوباً.

مجموعة من الأنفاق والجسور

اشتمل المشروع على تنفيذ ثلاثة أنفاق تحت المدارج بطول إجمالي قدره حوالي 2 كيلومتر، وبعرض 35 متراً لكل نفق، يقع اثنان منها على طريق العروبة والثالث على طريق أبي بكر الصديق، إضافة إلى نفق بطول 60 متراً وجسر بطول 210 أمتار عند مداخل مقر قيادة الدفاع الجوي، وجسر بطول 41 متراً على تقاطع طريق العروبة مع طريق أبي بكر الصديق، إلى جانب نفق داخلي في محيط القاعدة.

كما تم تنفيذ جسر علوي عند تقاطع طريق العروبة مع طريق الدائري الشرقي (مخرج 11) لنقل الحركة المرورية القادمة من الجنوب عبر الدائري الشرقي لطريق العروبة باتجاه الغرب بطول 750 متر وبعرض مسارين.

ميدان الأمير سطام

أقيم في قلب المشروع واحدٌ من أكبر ميادين مدينة الرياض، وهو ميدان الأمير سطام بن عبدالعزيز، وتبلغ مساحته 330 ألف متر مربع، مشكلاً تقاطعاً حراً لحركة الالتفاف لكل الاتجاهات، ومتيحاً التنقل بكل يسر بين طريق العروبة وأبي بكر الصديق.

وقد جرى إضفاء لمسات جمالية على الميدان من خلال نصب 1256 مجسماً فنياً لطائرات، و45 علماً للمملكة العربية السعودية، و42 قمعاً جمالياً لتحديد اتجاه الرياح، وهو ما أعطى الميدان بعداً بصرياً وروحاً عصرية منسجمة مع محيطه الزاخر بأنشطة الطيران.

أنظمة السلامة

توفّر الأنفاق الممتدة أسفل مدارج الطائرات «وهي مغطاة بالكامل» انسيابية عالية للحركة العابرة على المحورين الرئيسيين في المدينة، ولضمان أداء الأنفاق لهذه المهام بكفاءة عالية تم تزويدها بالعديد من أنظمة الأمن والسلامة، من ضمنها أنظمة “مستشعرات شدة الإضاءة” داخل الأنفاق، و”حسّاسات العد المروري للسيارات”، واللوحات المرورية المتغيرة قبل الدخول للنفق، إضافة إلى مراوح التهوية، و58 مركزاً للاتصال في حالات الطوارئ، وكاميرات المراقبة على طول الأنفاق، وأجراس إنذار، وأبواب الهروب بين مسارات النفق مزودة بإضاءة.

إلى جانب نشر 132 لاقطاً ومكبراً للصوت، ومجموعة من المحددات الضوئية للمشاة داخل الأنفاق للمساعدة في تحدد أبواب الهروب، فضلاً عن تزويدها بأبواب لمركبات الطوارئ، وفتحات للدوران قبل وبعد النفق. كما يمكن التواصل مع السائقين عبر إرسال رسائل في الحالات الطارئة من خلال جهاز الراديو الخاص بالسيارات، وذلك على موجات FM ضمن الترددين 100 و98، ويجري العمل على أن تشمل جميع ترددات FM.

تجهيزات التهوية

جُهزت الأنفاق بـ 113 مروحة للتهوية، تقوم بدفع الهواء إلى الخارج مع اتجاه الحركة المرورية في كل جانب، وذلك بهدف تسريع عملية التهوية، ويمكن عكس اتجاه تدفق الهواء في حالة الحريق بشكل يساعد على زيادة فاعلية عملية الإطفاء.

وتعمل مراوح التهوية آليا ويتم التحكم في سرعتها واتجاه دفعها من خلال “حسّاسات” لقياس نسبة الكربون والنيتروجين، وكذلك “مستشعرات الحرارة” عن طريق نظام يعمل على تشغيل ومراقبة الأنظمة عن بُعد من خلال غرف التحكم المركزية.

نظم متكاملة لإطفاء الحريق

تعتبر الحرائق من المخاطر الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تقع في الأنفاق بشكل عام، وذلك بسبب تزايد سرعة اشتعال النيران فيها بفعل الأثر الديناميكي على الغازات المشتعلة، لذا فقد تم تجهيز الأنفاق بأنظمة الإطفاء ومكافحة الحريق من خلال تهيئة أربعة عناصر رئيسية تعمل بالتكامل فيما بينها، وهي نظم الإنذار المبكر، ونقاط الإطفاء الثابتة والمتحركة، واسطوانات إطفاء حريق، ومخارج الطوارئ.

نظم متعددة للإنارة

جرت إنارة الأنفاق في الطريقين وفق معايير فنية وجمالية مبتكرة، حيث تم تجهيز الأنفاق بـحوالي 7000 وحدة إضاءة، تتكون من وحدات إضاءة اعتيادية، ووحدات إضاءة احتياطية للحالات الطارئة في الأنفاق، وقد تم تقسيم الإضاءة إلى إضاءة ليلية وأخرى نهارية، حيث تكون شدة الإضاءة النهارية داخل الأنفاق عالية في طرفي النفق عند الدخول، لتتوافق مع شدة الإضاءة خارج النفق، ويتم ذلك بواسطة “مستشعرات شدة الضوء” داخل وخارج الأنفاق، حيث يتم التحكم بشدة الإضاءة آلياً لتفادي إبهار نظر السائق، وفي ذات الوقت لتحقيق متطلب من متطلبات السلامة في الأنفاق.

كما تم تجهيز الأنفاق بمحددات ضوئية (LED) ذات لونين (أحمر وأبيض) في اتجاهين متعاكسين لتحديد جانبي الطريق داخل الانفاق، وتحديد المسار اللاّزم إتباعه للمشاة في الحالات الطارئة.

أما إنارة مسارات الطريقين، فتتم عبر 330 عموداً، وبارتفاع قدره 16 متراً. كما جرى إنارة الميدان بواسطة 122 عمود إنارة، بارتفاع 12 متراً.

تكوينات جمالية

تم في تصميم المشروع مراعاة تحقيق الجوانب الجمالية، التي شملت إضفاء تكوينات معمارية، أضفت على الطريق بيئة بصرية تحفل بعناصر متنوعة من التنسيق الطبيعي والفني، تضمنت تشكيلات من المسطحات الخضراء والتكوينات الجمالية مع المحافظة على شكل البناء الصخري للمنطقة، لدعم الجانب الجمالي في الطريق.

أسوار بأشكال جمالية ووظيفية

أقيمت ضمن المشروع، أسوار على جانبي الطريق بطول 11 كيلومتراً، وبارتفاع ثلاثة أمتار، وفي بعض أجزاء المشروع أقيم حائط بطول 8 كيلومترات، وبارتفاع خمسة أمتار حول امتدادات الطرق داخل محيط القاعدة، وتم تزيين هذه الأسوار برسومات وأشكال جمالية ووظيفية تحدد الاتجاهات.

التشجير

احتضن المشروع، نحو 1000 نخلة غرست في محيط الطرق وبين عناصرها المختلفة، كما تم غرس أكثر من 3000 شجرة وشجيرة في أرجاء المشروع، وبسط نحو 45 ألف متر مربع بالعشب الطبيعي، و200 ألف متر مربع بالعشب الصناعي، لتساهم في التقليل من التلوث البيئي الناجم عن انبعاث غاز أول أكسيد الكربون من المركبات المستخدمة للطريق.

نظم للري وتصريف السيول

تم تزويد الأنفاق بـ 18 مضخة أساسية لتصريف مياه السيول، وخمسة مضخات احتياطية، إضافة إلى شبكة للري داخل محطة معالجة المياه مزودة بسبعة مضخات كبيرة لري المناطق الخضراء في المشروع، ويتم التحكم فيها عبر موجات لاسلكية، وتقدر طاقتها الإنتاجية بـ 2800 متر مكعب يومياً، فيما تصل سعة الخزان إلى 6000 متر مكعب.

كما زوّد المشروع بقناة لتصريف السيول بطول 10.6 كيلومتر، ابتداءً من قناة التحويل الشمالية الواقعة في بداية شارع الأمير سلطان بن عبدالعزيز، وتتجه شمالاً بمحاذاة طريق أبي بكر الصديق عبر قاعدة الملك سلمان الجوية، حتى تصل إلى طريق الإمام سعود بن عبد العزيز بن محمد. كما جرى تجهيز شبكات لـتصريف المياه الأرضية، وأخرى لتصريف مياه إطفاء الحريق، وحفر أربعة آبار عميقة، وإنشاء محطتين للرصد البيئي تتابع كميات الأمطار والرطوبة وسرعة الرياح في الموقع.

أنظمة الإدارة المرورية المتقدّمة

احتضن المشروع مجموعة متكاملة من نظم الإدارة المرورية المتقدمة بهدف تحقيق الاستفادة القصوى من الطاقة الاستيعابية للطرق ورفع مستوى السلامة المرورية فيها، حيث جرى تجهيز الطرق الرئيسية بـ 22 لوحة إرشادية متغيرة الرسائل، و161 لوحة تنظيمية متغيرة الرسائل، و120 لوحة متغيرة للتحكم بالمسارات داخل الأنفاق الثلاثة، ونظام آلي لمراقبة وعدّ الحركة المرورية عند التقاطعات وعلى امتداد الطرق بواسطة 260 كاميرا ثابتة، و34 كاميرا محورية.

غرفة تحكم مركزية

غرفة التحكم المركزية يتم من خلالها تشغيل أنظمة الإدارة المرورية في المشروع، من خلال كوادر متخصصة ويتم عبرها إعطاء مستخدمي الطرق التوجيهات بشكل آلي أثناء الازدحام المروري وفي حالة حصول الحوادث ـ لا قدر الله، وذلك بهدف تحقيق أعلى قدر من الانسيابية في الحركة المرورية.

 

افتتاح المشروع

في صباح يوم الأحد الموافق 28 ربيع الثاني 1434هـ، رعى صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير خالد بن بندر بن عبدالعزيز افتتاح مشروع امتداد طريقي أبي بكر الصديق والعروبة عبر قاعدة الملك سلمان الجوية، ومشروع نفق تقاطع طريق الملك عبدالعزيز مع طريق العروبة.